South Tyrol Alliance for Research in Sustainability

With the so-called “Sustainable Development Goals” (SDGs), the United Nations first defined in 2015 seventeen global goals for sustainable development as part of the 2030 Agenda.

The Autonomous Province of Bolzano-Bozen, in order to foster the 2030 Agenda, adopted its own development strategy and plans: an overarching framework for a territorial approach, in which five priority objectives were selected. The province target topics concern social justice, climate, landscape and environment, mobility and economy, and the strategy, together with sectorial plans, provide guidance on the implementation of these goals through concrete measures across seven action fields derived from the SDGs framework.

In a frame with such a challenging mission research plays a primary role, and a close cooperation among local research institutions, aiming at harnessing synergic potentials and at establishing a common reference framework in the fields of research, teaching and their “third mission” regarding sustainability, could be pursued through an Alliance.

South Tyrol Map Animation Your browser does not support canvas!

The South Tyrol Alliance for Research in Sustainability aims at sharing a common know-how, providing concrete recommendations and options to private citizens, enterprises and public decision-makers, and proactively stimulating the discussion about the sustainability issue in South Tyrol.

The alliance consists of nine members, of which seven core partners: the Free University of Bolzano-Bozen, Eurac, the Philosophical-Theological College of Brixen/Bressanone, Fraunhofer Italia Research, Eco Research, the Laimburg Research Centre, the Natural Science Museum of South Tyrol; and two associate partners: IDM South Tyrol and the Ökoinstitut.